Pluck! part II in how to Pluck a Bunny

Ok, I lost my photos and it took a really long time to get some more since I was traveling around the country.  But I am home and had a couple of really fuzzy bunnies waiting for me.  Meet Princess Rose.  She is one fuzzy bunny and since I was gone for 2 weeks, she is showing a little felting in her fiber. 

How do I know she is ready to be plucked?  The first clue is that she has a trail of wool following her around.  Some of her wool has fallen out and makes a “tail” of sorts that is stuck to her backside.  Sorry, didn’t think to photograph that side of her, but when you see it, you’ll know what I mean.  If you try to pluck your bunny too soon, it will be uncomfortable for her and you won’t get much wool.  Wait to long, and the bunny may ingest too much wool and could get wool block.  Other health hazards to not plucking include overheating and fly strike.  We’ll discuss all of those later.

Now that you know your bunny is ready to be plucked, get comfy, this will take a while.  I pluck in my living room because it is comfortable and I can watch a movie or something.  My husband hates this as it does make a mess.  A good garment brush can help clean up, but get used to being covered in angora.

Pick a spot on the bunny and grasp the ends of the fiber and gently pull.  You’ll notice some, not all of the fiber slide right out.  It ok to be firm, but don’t pluck the poor thing bald.  I work the back then go lower on the sides and then the underside.  I sort the fiber into grades as I go.  The more cottony, I save for felting, the long staple length is my prime stuff for spinning. 

You may find knots that need to be cut off along the way.  Keep your comb handy and occasionally comb through your bunny to encourage more loose fiber to be revealed. 

Take a break when needed.  You may both appreciate it!

I usually pluck through most of the bunny and trim the nails.  Then I give her a break for a couple days.  This allows her to prepare herself for the final plucking session and will yield more fiber.

Next – Hints on getting the most fiber off your bunny!

Leave a Reply

